Easy “Green” Ideas For Around The House

Image

Some of these things I have been doing for a long time, some of them are new! All of them don’t cost you a thing and will save energy, money and help make your footprint a little bit greener 🙂 

1 Dont flush until the end of the day (unless you have a #2)

2 Re-use your towels a few times. I usually don’t wash my towels until they start smelling like they need a wash

3 Re-wear your clothes! This is something that I have always done around the house, since I don’t have anyone that cares here to judge me lol. If you are wearing something nice when you go out for a few hours, take it off when you get home and hang it up again. No sense washing something that was only worn for a few hours! 

4 Turn off the tap when you brush your teeth or are doing anything that does not require the water’s usage at that moment. Sounds like a no-brainer, right? See how often you catch yourself NOT turning off the tap. I am frequently having to get after my hubby for doing this!! 

5 Stop buying cleaning products and air fresheners. They are pretty much ALL horrible for your health and the health of the planet. You can clean with baking soda, vinegar, citrus fruits and lots of other things you probably already have around your house that won’t do any damage to you or the environment 🙂 

6 Eat as many “raw” meals a day as you can. It saves on power since you don’t have to cook it AND it’s really good for you. More nutrients are in raw fruits and vegetables than in pretty much anything else on the planet. There are SO many great websites and pages that have easy to do raw meal ideas! 

7 Re-use your cups, plates, utencils as much as you can. I definitely need to start doing this more! I am always just using things once and putting them in the dishwasher… making me have to run the dishwasher almost every day! No more of that for me! 

8 Always turn off your lights as much as you possibly can in the day AND in the night. You have windows, use them! PS, candles can be fun and if you have a tonne of them stockpiled in your house, definitely use them in the night on occasion. 

9 Wear an extra layer if you’re cold or grab a blanket. My hubby is HORRIBLE for cranking the heat and then guess who complains about the heating bill?! Not me, since I don’t have to pay it 😛 I’m going to keep the heat off in every room (except my kid’s at night) from now on 🙂 In the fall and winter next year we will DEFINITELY be making use of our wood burning fireplace more often than we did this past year. 

10 Dont recycle your glass jars or non plastic containers. Use them to store your food, beauty and cleaning products. They are SO much better than plastic, they look great and when they do eventually break or get thrown out, they are not harmful for the environment like plastic ones are. My 4 year old is enjoying using baby food jars (given to us by friends) as her new cups at mealtimes. 

LOTS OF OTHERS TO COME, BUT THATS A START! 

3 responses to this post.

  1. *pauses…thinks about it….takes a leap*

    1. Has always been me and my man’s policy. Makes so much more sense!
    2. I could’ve wrote that myself, exact same here
    3. I absolutely do this. When I get home I’m like a chameleon: peel off the outside clothes, slop on the lazy house scrubbies. Some may feel I have poor hygiene as I wait about a week to wash them (definitely a handful of “wears”), but REALLY, when you do this, your clothes get a lot less dirty. Bras are not exempt, but undies and socks are. THOSE need to be fresh 😉
    7. Just like 9, takes a bit of getting used to, but definitely a habit once started! your girls will be just like I was as a child, and this will be second nature 😀

    love your list Jessy! looking forward to your next post.

    Reply

  2. thanks so much Chanel! Im glad someone actually takes the time to read and reply! I appreciate it 😀 I am probably going to add to this list (as well as the list of documentaries to watch) periodically, rather than write new posts all the time. So check back periodically! xo!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Aunti Kellie on April 19, 2012 at 11:41 AM

    Your # 10 has a small typo “Don’t” should be “Do”. I agree with most. Our toliet will not last all day with pee in. With 3 large males it becomes quite stinky and I have to draw the line. (: We have a low water usuage toliet so I don’t feel so bad about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

