Gotta love the internet!

Here are some articles, movies and pages I’ve found helpful and informative in the past 24hrs:

While I was searching for facts about the dangers of seafood to share with a friend, I stumbled upon DHERBS.com and this article : http://dherbs.com/articles/seafood-143.html . Although I found it a tad religious and racist in a few sections and a bit over the top, it did have some good information and facts about seafood, even some I have not heard before.

Mainly, it mentioned the documentary ” Earthlings ” which I, for some crazy reason, have not heard of before. My 4 year old was down for a nap so I decided to check it out after finding it very easily on letmewatchthis.com. Here’s the link for all of you who care about animals and want to watch. http://www.1channel.ch/watch-4752-Earthlings .

I definitely bit off more than I was ready to chew at the moment with that movie… I balled my eyes out on and off for an hour and a half. That movie brings everything from behind closed doors into the light for all of the animals of the world. Not only does it cover the meat and seafood industry, it talks about animals in the pet, entertainment, clothing and research industries. It was completely heartbreaking for me and I feel SO indebted to the animals of the world for living in ignorance for the past 26 years. That movie has changed the way I view animals for the rest of my life, just like “Bag It” did with the way I view plastic. I can not imagine any decent human being watching that movie from start to finish and NOT being changed forever. I am going to try my hardest to get everyone I know to watch it… not that even half of them will, but I have to at least TRY. 

I was roaming the internet the other day and stumbled upon EvolvingWellness.com while searching for natural alternatives and factual based opinions on major corporations and eco-friendly products. Here is an article that rips the Clorox brand a new one in regards to their new line of “green” products. http://evolvingwellness.com/posts/72/maybe-natural-means-toxic-today-the-clorox-green-works-update/ Not saying that I would have taken (in my higher state of awareness, lol) their labels at face value… but a month ago, sure. I bought this crap and thought I was doing something good. *SIGH* I hate not being able to rewind and slap myself.  

On facebook last night, I stumbled upon a page called “Young and Raw” which is dedicated to being a raw vegan. http://www.facebook.com/youngandraw . Not that I’m a raw vegan, far from it. I’m just starting to becoming a vegetarian… and doing my best to make sure all of the dairy I buy is organic and not coming from horrible places as shown in the movie “Earthlings”. MAYBE someday I will end up a raw vegan… but it’s not happening anytime soon. I’m still in the “baby steps” mode of my life changes… might not seem like it to some people who are not wanting to change at all… but to the really crunchy, tree hugging, hippy dippy, eco-crazy people of the world, all of my changes so far, are probably nothing. 

While checking out this page and all of it’s beautiful pictures of raw vegan food and recipes, I found many inspiring (and some humorous) pictures and facts. Most importantly the one I’m going to insert with this post (and anyone reading this I really encourage you to write down this list and take it with you shopping and share with everyone you know!) I found a list of the food companies who use Monsanto “The GMO Giant” ingredients. I saw this list awhile back and wasn’t ready to care enough about it yet… but now after watching “The Future Of Food” and “Food Inc” and learning all about how horrible Monsanto and GMO products are, it is VITAL information. 

*JUST REMEMBER, EVERYTIME YOU GO SHOPPING YOU CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE IN THE WORLD! YOU GET TO VOTE FOR WHAT KIND OF WORLD YOU WANT TO LIVE IN. IT IS JUST AS IMPORTANT TO VOTE WITH YOUR PURCHASES AS IT IS TO VOTE IN ELECTIONS! POSSIBLY EVEN MORE IMPORTANT!! * 

Image

Leave a Reply

