I’m starting to feel rather crunchy

BUT I LOVE IT! 

I would have never though, going back a year ago, that I would make all of the changes I’m making now. No way in hell did I ever think I’d become a vegetarian or give up plastics or cloth diaper my baby! But here I am, doing all that and more and feeling so wonderful about it. I keep thinking of what other ways I can effect the environment in positive ways rather than negative… it seems that the possibilities are endless.

The only things that could make this experience better would be more available $ to spend on making my home and life more green friendly and more like minded friends to share this excitement with. I have a few people who are happy with what I’m doing and share some of the same interests and ambitions, spend the time to comment on it and encourage me… but most just ignore it and probably talk about how “crazy” I am behind my back. That’s fine with me though, because I know that crazy is the farthest thing from what I’m becoming 🙂 I am proud of myself 100% for making these changes and doing everything I can to be a better person for my kids and the earth. 

My 4 year old and I have a new mission: to clean up our neighbourhood and pick up garbage wherever we go. What good does it do to just walk past the litter you see on the ground and think that someone else will deal with it? What if everyone thought that way and no one picked it up? I can’t stand how much people seem to litter around the Surrey area, it disgusts me! So, no more complaining about it 🙂 It’s time to change it as much as one person can and HOPEFULLY we will inspire others to do the same. Between walking to and from my daughter’s ballet class and storytime program yesterday and today, only 2 blocks from my house, we picked up almost 2 grocery bags full! (Don’t worry, we washed our hands directly after, both times, and were very careful not to pick up anything sharp or dangerous)

Today I have decided to stop using the “natural” babywash Burts Bees Baby as my 3 month old seems to be getting dryer and dryer skin, especially between her chubby creases. On the advice of a like-minded friend, we had a bath using organic oats and coconut oil. It felt great and I’m hoping it works if we keep it up. It sucks having to stop using even the more “natural” of the beauty products… because it smelled lovely and I thought it would be so much better than using evil Johnson & Johnsons but it’s obviously not good for her if it is giving her that kind of reaction. I was not planning on buying anymore beauty products from here on out, but I was going to use the higher quality ones that I have left until they are gone… guess I will give to give them away too! 

Also, today is the first day of our life as cloth diapering parents. I always said I’d never do it, didn’t want to deal with the extra laundry and hassle… but after hearing the horrifying statistics about how many disposables end up in the landfill every year and how long it takes them to break down… and all of the plastic packaging that goes into the diapers… and monthly costs piling up with buying them all the time… it was definitely a no brainer for me! I got a great deal off of a friend and hopefully all of this will last me until my 3 month old is potty trained some day 😀 

Below is a picture of an organic trail mix that I made today, using all bulk bin organic items! (raw sunflower seeds, roasted soy nuts, mixed nuts, dried cranberries and chocolate chips) MMMMM so good! 

Image

Leave a Reply

