Staying “Green” While On Vacation

Well I’m back from my mini vacation to Harrison Hot Springs with my best friend and my 3.5 month old. It was a GREAT time and I can’t wait to go back there again. So much nature surrounding you… the air smells so clean and it’s quiet and peaceful ❤ It really made me miss the island (Comox Valley mainly)… Can’t wait to go back there in June! 

I’m proud to say that I was able to remain vegetarian while eating out at every meal while I was away. Since I’m new at this I didn’t know just how tempted I would be… especially with such few vegetarian options on the menus. Every time I thought of having something with meat or getting sad while smelling meat cooking, I thought about the movie “Earthlings” and about my blog earlier on and all the reasons to go meatless. It worked and I’m so happy!! 

While we were gone I did my best to stay “green” as much as I could. Things I did were : brought food/snacks from home to cut down on how much I’d need to buy, bring my own glass container for leftovers when eating out, only drink water from my own steel canteen, eating local food at every opportunity and asking questions about what I was being served (is it organic/local/etc), and hanging up my wet clothes/towels and re-using them rather than doing laundry or using new ones. I also picked a bunch of fiddleheads and chickweed and brought them home with me 🙂 

All in all, we had a fantastic time and indulged in lots of sweets, nature walks and relaxing. I love my best friend, she is so supportive of my changes and cares about me a lot. ❤ 

Picture below is one that I took of some fiddleheads! 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

