Shopping “Green”

I wish I had more time to write here, but after I spent over an hour writing up an awesome blog last night only to have my browser crash and lose it all, I am fed up and am going to simplify it. 

What I have been doing to save as much unneeded packaging as possible:

Only buying loose produce items. If it comes in plastic packaging, don’t get it. It pisses me off that I want to get the organic lemons but they come in a plastic netted bag. I bought the normal lemons instead. I always buy local and organic products whenever I possibly can. It’s hard to get things that are unpackaged, local and organic… it seems that you usually have to pick only 1 or 2 of those options. Just do your best and try to get it all loose and use no plastic bags at all. 

Bring your own containers and bags. I bring my old plastic bulk bin bags from my previous life, rather than just throw them out, I am re-using them until they all get holes and are not useful anymore. I transfer everything to metal/glass containers when I get home. Bring fabric bags and refuse all plastic bags wherever you go. 

Go to the deli counter and ask for cheeses, etc without packaging and put them in your own containers. They can just print you off the label/barcode. Do the same at the bakery section. I was able to get cheese and bread without plastic packaging at Superstore and I’m sure it would be just as easy if not easier to do it at other stores. 

Avoid all of the isles except ones that you abosolutely need and read labels!!! Make sure you are buying products that are at least made in Canada and even better, in BC. 

Walk to and from grocery shopping. If you have a stroller, use it to put your groceries in. If you don’t, get a little pushcart. I used to take the bus to the store sometimes and cab home, but now I walk both ways and won’t ever do it any other way from now on. It’s the greenest thing you can do! 

I had so much more to say and had it written out so well but I’m exhausted and tired so I’ll write more soon-ish. 

Image

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Carrie Dodd on May 6, 2012 at 10:12 AM

    Yeah you’ve been to Tynehead….. We don’t live near ANYTHING like a store we can walk to so yeah, we drive and I buy way too much stuff to fit into the stroller with both kids in it 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

