“Cleaning up our world”

So our mission is pretty much to leave places nicer than how we found them. My 4 year old daughter and I are quite the clean team these days. She gets extremely pumped up about collecting garbage and isn’t afraid to get mad at people for littering if she sees it. She makes me very proud!! We’ve collected 3 overstuffed fabric bags full of garbage in the past 2 days from just around our neighborhood and we always ran out of room in our bag before we were done. It’s disgusting how much people litter and has bothered me for years!!! I’m so glad to not just be whining about it anymore and actually doing something about it. She said to me today as we were walking home, “Mommy, I’m glad we’re cleaning up our world.” 

In other news, my home made deodorant is working AWESOME and I’m never going back to plastic packaged, chemically ridden deodorants ever again 🙂 Looking very forward to making my own toothpaste next, lotion, lip balm and household cleaners! Just waiting for my old ones to run out as I can’t bare to waste them, then it’s go time 🙂 Also, I have only about a month left worth of shampoo/conditioner left and then my daughter and I are getting our hair cut to our shoulders and doing the “No Poo!” Very excited 🙂 

Tomorrow is our 4th Spud.ca delivery and I’m extra pumped about it because they will be picking up a bunch of donations for the Downtown Eastside Women’s Center from me. Giving to charity is MASSIVELY important to me and although I’m not able to financially donate on a regular basis, giving material items that I’ve accumulated over the years is never a problem. The bra drive for African ladies that I took part in a few weeks ago was a major success as well! Just myself and a few moms from my parent’s group were able to get over 90 bras together to be shipped to Africa! MOM POWER ❤ 

Below is an inspiring picture that has a message I wish would soak into everyone’s brain. JUST BECAUSE YOU ARE ONLY ONE PERSON DOES NOT MEAN YOU SHOULD DO NOTHING!!! EVERY LITTLE CHANGE TOWARDS AN ECO FRIENDLY LIFE COUNTS AND MAKES A DIFFERENCE!! ❤ 

Image

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kelly on May 11, 2012 at 10:17 AM

    There is a place by my house called (cranberry lane) its up by planet organic, they sell all natural stuff such as essential oils any sent you can think of they have it. They also have kits to make your own stuff such as lip balm, body lotion, sun screen, household cleaning supplies etc. My sister in law and i are going to be signing up for some classes that they offer to learn how to make all these things. I am going to be signng up for the lip balm bodylotion one first.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

