DIY Oregon Grape Jam

So I’ve never canned before in my life. Never even thought I’d be able to do it if I tried. Turns out the new me who makes things herself and goes against the grain is actually good at jam making! 

So there are these blue berries growing all over the place and I read up on them from my favorite foraging website so I knew they were edible… but after picking a few and finding out they are disgusting in flavor, I didn’t think I’d be able to use them for anything. But, I wasn’t ready to give up on this bountiful supply of free fruit, so I turned to my friend google and found this recipe for Oregon Grape Jam 🙂 

The other day I went picking in my townhouse complex and after an hour I had 5.5 cups of berries. I was able to make the jam pretty easily (with some tips and tools from an awesome friend) and came out with 3 jars of delicious jam! The berries, although nasty when raw, taste somewhere between a blackberry and a raspberry jam once cooked. So yummy! 

Tonight I had a friend come over and between her and I, we picked my townhouse complex clean of berries and ended up with over 9 cups worth! We came in and made the jam together and split it 🙂 I love have a jamming buddy, we be jammin! ❤ lol

Here’s some pics of the process. Berries on the bush, berries in the bowl, juice/pulp in the pot, seeds/skins taken out and put in a bowl and the end result!  Enjoy! ImageImageImageImageImage

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by chanel on July 31, 2012 at 6:16 AM

    Woooohoooo! We be jammin, Mon! Xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

