Merry Christmas & New Years Resolutions!

Well it’s been almost a year since I started this blog and this journey and I’d love to thank every one of you that’s come along with me! I am really looking forward to 2013 as my first FULL year of living in an aware and cruelty free state of mind.

Our “Nothing New” Christmas was fairly successful and I was able to find mostly everything on my list for everyone either used, home made or from local vendors. I thoroughly enjoyed this Christmas and how challenging yet eco-friendly it was and look forward to doing even better next year! 

After spending the Christmas holidays with family and being forced out of my plastic free, organic, vegetarian household and forced to defend myself over and over for my choices, being put in situations that are less than comfortable and not able to live to the standard that I’ve become used to… I have become re-dedicated if nothing less. I am hoping to make even bigger changes in the New Year to make a difference in the world, my life and my health. 

Going vegan is #1 on my list. I realize this will be very hard for someone like me who has always loved ice cream, chocolate, cheese, and egg products… but after watching enough documentaries, realizing that there’s no real “humane” and “sustainable” way of farming these products on a large scale… I just don’t want to support it anymore. I also realize that it isn’t really possible to put my 2 children on a totally vegan diet until they are older and I’m ok with that… nor do I expect my hubby to go vegan. But I’m going to do my best for myself as the guilt is just getting worse and worse! 

I might also try going gluten free as well as starting some kind of yoga/breathing to increase my well being 🙂 I am lucky enough to have a few friends who are knowledgeable in the gluten free world as well as the yoga world, so I’ll be good to go on that front. 

Anywho! I am still on holidays right now and having a hard time focusing on writing but wanted to at least do a little update. I’ll leave you with some pictures of a few of my home made gifts and one of my favorite videos of a song that has lots of fantastic quotes from famous people. Enjoy! Image

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Grmhh8i4UCA&feature=share

Image

Image

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Yay for homemade gifts!!! I say the more the merrier. I made some this year and also bought from local vendors. It was decidedly unChina-ey this year.

    I just discovered your blog. Please keep writing! It’s so interesting seeing what you are up to.

    Next up? I’m gonna go milk some nuts. Probably almonds. Makes the best nut milk!

    Reply

    • Thank you Lindsey!! I love blogging and mapping my journey to “naturalness” 🙂 I just wish I could remember to do it more, I should set a reminder on my computer every few days or something lol!! Having a “nothing new” Christmas was very fulfilling and fun! I spent a lot of time in thrift stores and on craigslist and other online buy/sell sites. Saved lots of money and the planet 😛

      Reply

Leave a Reply

