“Green” Valentine’s Day

This year’s Valentine’s Day was one of many firsts. The first that our 5 year old had to make her own cards as she is in school now, the first being vegan and the first with some new and eco-friendly traditions to carry on through the years to come πŸ™‚

Some of the ways we turned our Valentine’s Day GREEN are:

Made all of the kindergarten cards from scratch using scissors, paper, glue, markers, crayons and stickers.

Made my hubby an edible (vegan) gift from scratch with the help of our 5 year old, I even used beet juice to colour the frosting pink!

Hubby made my card with the help of our 5 year old from scratch

Hubby re-used a heart shaped box from a previous Valentine’s Day and had it filled with vegan chocolates for me

Instead of buying him anything, I took him out for lunch (he ate vegetarian, I ate vegan) and instead of him buying me anything (besides the chcocolates) he is paying for my next tattoo!! (tomorrow, eek!)

Instead of buying anything new or junk foodish for my kids I took them to Value Village (a thrift store) and let them pick out a few things. My 5 year old got 2 hand made dolls and a party dress and my 1 year old got some wooden turtle that you pull along with a string. I also picked up a glass french press coffee maker for my hubby since I gave away our old plastic one and he has really been missing coffee since. All of that for under 20$ and there was no packaging/waste and we have a new family tradition πŸ™‚

I hope everyone reading had a warm & loving Valentine’s Day that was as eco-friendly as possible πŸ™‚

DSC_0662

 

Leave a Reply

